Overview: South Sudan

13,026,129 (July 2017 est.)

Urban: 19.6% of total Population (2018)
Rate of urbanization: 4.1% annual rate of change (2015-20 est.)

Population growth: 3.83% (2017 est.)

Ethnic groups
Dinka 35.8%, Nuer 15.6%, Shilluk, Azande, Bari, Kakwa, Kuku, Murle, Mandari, Didinga, Ndogo, Bviri, Lndi, Anuak, Bongo, Lango, Dungotona, Acholi, Baka, Fertit (2011 est.)

English (official), Arabic (includes Juba and Sudanese variants), regional languages Dinka, Nuer, Bari, Zande, Shilluk

Animist, Christian

Age structure: 0-14 years: 44.37% (male 2,947,277/female 2,831,822); 15-24 years: 20.56% (male 1,402,746/female 1,275,276); 25-54 years: 29.58% (male 1,869,480/female 1,983,504); 55-64 years: 3.39% (male 235,546/female 206,304); 65 years and over: 2.1% (male 151,166/female 123,008) (2017 est.)

Dependency: Total dependency ratio: 83.7; youth dependency ratio: 77.3; elderly dependency ratio: 6.4; and potential support ratio: 15.7 (2015 est.)

Refugees and internally displaced persons:-
Refugees (country of origin): 270,560 (Sudan) (refugees and asylum seekers); 15,375 (Democratic Republic of the Congo) (refugees and asylum seekers) (2018)

IDPs: 1.76 million (alleged coup attempt and ethnic conflict beginning in December 2013; information is lacking on those displaced in earlier years by: fighting in Abyei between the Sudanese Armed Forces and the Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA) in May 2011; clashes between the SPLA and dissident militia groups in South Sudan; inter-ethnic conflicts over resources and cattle; attacks from the Lord’s Resistance Army; floods and drought) (2018)

Area: total: 644,329 sq. km; land: NA sq. km; water: NA sq. km

Irrigated land: 1,000 sq km (2012)

Health expenditure: 2.7% of GDP (2014)

Education expenditure: 1.8% of GDP (2016)

Definition: age 15 and over can read and write; total population: 27%; Male: 40%; and female: 16% (2009 est.)

Unemployment youth ages: Total: 18.5%; Male: 20%; and female: 17% (2008 est.)

Government type
Presidential Republic

Administrative divisions
10 states; Central Equatoria, Eastern Equatoria, Jonglei, Lakes, Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Unity, Upper Nile, Warrap, Western Bahr el Ghazal, Western Equatoria)

History: several previous; latest signed 7 July 2011, effective 9 July 2011 (Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan, 2011

Amendments: passage requires submission of the proposal to the Legislature at least one month prior to consideration, approval by at least two-thirds majority vote in both houses of the Legislature, and assent by the president; amended 2013, 2015, 2018 (2018)

Citizenship by birth: no
Citizenship by descent only: at least one parent must be a citizen of South Sudan
Dual citizenship recognized: yes
Residency requirement for naturalization: 10 years

Legislative branch
Description: bicameral National Legislature consists of:
Council of States, established by presidential decree in August 2011 (50 seats; 20 former members of the Council of States and 30 appointed representatives)

Elections: last held 11-15 April 2010 but did not take office until July 2011; current parliamentary term extended until 2021

Election results: Council of States – percent of vote by party – NA; seats by party – SPLM 20, unknown 30; and National Legislative Assembly – percent of vote by party – NA; seats by party – SPLM 251, DCP 10, independent 6, unknown 65

Executive branch
Chief of state: President Salva KIIR Mayardit (since 9 July 2011); First Vice President Taban Deng GAI (since 26 July 2016); Second Vice President James Wani IGGA (since 26 April 2016

Head of government: President Salva KIIR Mayardit (since 9 July 2011); First Vice President Taban Deng GAI (since 26 July 2016); Second Vice President James Wani IGGA (since 26 April 2016

Elections/appointments: last held on 11-15 April 2010 (next election scheduled for 2015 postponed to 2018 and again to 2021

Election results: Salva KIIR Mayardit elected president; percent of vote – Salva KIIR Mayardit (SPLM) 93%, Lam AKOL (SPLM-DC) 7%)

Judiciary Branch
Highest court(s): Supreme Court of South Sudan (consists of the chief and deputy chief justices, 9 other justices and normally organized into panels of 3 justices except when sitting as a Constitutional panel of all 9 justices chaired by the chief justice

Judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the president upon proposal of the Judicial Service Council, a 9-member judicial and administrative body

Subordinate courts: Courts of Appeal; High Courts; County Courts; state level – High Courts; County Courts; customary courts; other specialized courts and tribunals

Exports commodities: unknown

Exports partners: unknown

Imports commodities: unknown

Imports partners: unknown

Electricity access
Population without electricity: 11,200,000
Electrification – total population: 1%)
Electrification – urban areas: 4%)
Electrification – rural areas: 0% (2013)

Source: CIA World Factbook

%d bloggers like this: